France supports development of sustainable palm oil

Monday, 7 December, at a COP21 side event, the French government’s Ministry of Ecology, Sustainable Development and Energy and Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development signed the “Amsterdam Declaration,” designed to support the private sector’s commitment to sourcing 100%-sustainable palm oil in Europe by 2020.

Preamble to the EU Presidency by the Netherlands:

Yesterday, the Amsterdam Declaration, signed by France, Germany, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom and Denmark, was presented by Liliane Ploumen, Dutch Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation, to Cecilia Malmström, European Commissioner for Trade. A strong signal that demonstrates the determination on the part of the Netherlands – President of the European Union as of January 2016 – to develop a sustainable palm oil industry, one of the key issues in the fight against deforestation.

The Alliance welcomes this major step forward:

« We are delighted that the French government supports our initiative. This important declaration will make it possible to significantly accelerate the pace of change in this supply chain and, hopefully, lead to a full-scale changeover to sustainable palm oil. Development of this supply chain is key to fighting deforestation and global warming,” remarks Guillaume Réveilhac, President of the French Alliance for Sustainable Palm Oil. »

Infographie Déclaration d'Amsterdam huile de palme durable

 

Fil Twitter

La France soutient le développement de l’huile de palme durable

Lundi 7 décembre, en marge de la COP21, le Ministère de l’Écologie, du Développement durable et de l’Énergie, et le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Développement international, du Gouvernement Français ont signé la « Déclaration d’Amsterdam » visant à soutenir l’engagement du secteur privé de s’approvisionner à 100% en huile de palme durable en Europe d’ici 2020.

Préambule à la Présidence de l’UE par les Pays-Bas:

Signée par la France, l’Allemagne, les Pays-Bas, le Royaume-Uni et le Danemark, la Déclaration d’Amsterdam a été remise hier par Liliane Ploumen, ministre néerlandaise du Commerce extérieur et de la Coopération au développement, à Cécilia Malmström, commissaire européenne pour le Commerce. Un signal fort qui démontre la volonté des Pays-Bas, future Présidente de l’Union européenne à partir de janvier 2016, de développer la filière durable de l’huile de palme, un des principaux enjeux dans la lutte contre la déforestation.

L’Alliance salue cette avancée majeure:

« Nous nous réjouissons que le gouvernement français soutienne notre initiative. Cette déclaration majeure va permettre d’accélérer significativement la transformation de la filière et faire, nous l’espérons, basculer l’ensemble de la production vers une huile de palme durable. Son développement est clé pour lutter contre la déforestation et le réchauffement climatique, » commente Guillaume Réveilhac, Président de l’Alliance Française pour une Huile de Palme Durable.

Infographie Déclaration d'Amsterdam huile de palme durable

 

Fil Twitter