The mission of the Alliance

Expert opinion

We are working to rally as many entities as possible from the industries using palm oil in France around our goal of 100% sustainable palm oil. Our objective is ultimately to reach all professionals in producer countries.

Adressing in the entire sector

Our members are committed to implementing concrete action plans to achieve the goal of 100% sustainable palm oil by 2020. To this end, the Alliance facilitates dialogue and experience-sharing between the sector’s companies in France, Europe and the producer countries. We hold gatherings between those in the industry and our members to share knowledge and available solutions, and to speed the progress of change along the supply chains.

Rigorous production criteria

We believe that the preservation of natural resources, biodiversity, and the future well-being of small producers has ties to development of the sustainable palm oil market in France and Europe.
We are therefore working to reconcile the increasing global demand for this oil with rigorous production criteria addressing environmental, economic and social concerns.

Objective information

We are also committed to providing consumers with objective information about the nutritional aspects of palm oil.

100% sustainable palm oil by 2020

The industrial members of the Alliance have committed to using 100% certified palm oil in all their production by 2015. To achieve this, they have embraced the RSPO certification system.

As the Alliance’s sustainability criteria are even stricter than those of the RSPO, as explained here, its members are committed to using sustainable palm oil that meets the highest level of certification available by 2020.

La mission de l'alliance

L’avis de l’expert

Nous travaillons à rassembler le plus grand nombre d’acteurs des industries utilisatrices d’huile de palme en France autour de notre objectif 100% huile de palme durable. Ceci afin d’agir auprès de l’ensemble des professionnels des pays producteurs.

Une action sur toute la filière

Nos membres s’engagent à mettre en œuvre des plans d’action concrets pour atteindre l’objectif 100% huile de palme durable d’ici 2020. L’Alliance facilite pour cela l’échange et le partage d’expériences entre les entreprises de la filière en France, en Europe et dans les pays producteurs. Nous organisons des rencontres entre les acteurs du secteur et nos membres afin de mutualiser la connaissance, les solutions disponibles et accélérer la transformation des chaînes d’approvisionnement.

Des critères de production exigeants

Nous pensons en effet que la préservation des ressources naturelles et de la biodiversité, comme l’avenir des petits producteurs, est lié au développement en France et en Europe du marché de l’huile de palme durable.
Pour cela, nous travaillons à concilier l’augmentation croissante de la demande mondiale avec des critères de production exigeants sur les plans environnementaux, économiques et sociaux.

Une information objective

Nous sommes également attachés à apporter aux consommateurs une information objective sur les aspects nutritionnels de l’huile de palme.

100% d’huile de palme durable d’ici 2020

Les entreprises membres de l’Alliance ont déjà relevé leur premier défi : s’approvisionner à 100% en huile de palme certifiée à fin 2015. Pour cela, ils ont adhéré au système de certification de la RSPO.

Les critères de durabilité de l’Alliance étant plus exigeants que ceux de la RSPO, comme expliqué ici, ses membres s’engagent à utiliser une huile de palme durable correspondant au plus haut niveau de certification disponible d’ici 2020.