Where is palm oil produced?

Expert opinion

Where is palm oil produced?

iStock_000032959548Large

The oil palm is native to tropical Africa: there are still natural palm groves of this species along the Gulf of Guinea. It is grown in Nigeria, Côte d’Ivoire, Cameroon and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Asian, African and South American producer countries

Indonesia and Malaysia are currently home to the largest land areas devoted to oil palm cultivation. But it is also grown in Africa (Nigeria, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire) and South America (Colombia, Ecuador, Brazil).

Favourable natural conditions

The moist tropics of these three continents provide the best growth conditions for this crop, meaning the oil palm yields the most oil. This explains how it is that Malaysia and Indonesia alone account for 87% of the global supply.

D’OU VIENT L’HUILE DE PALME

Où est produite l'huile de palme ?

L’avis de l’expert

Où est produite l’huile de palme ?

Le palmier à huile est originaire d’Afrique tropicale : il existe encore aujourd’hui des palmeraies naturelles de cette espèce le long du Golfe de Guinée. Il est cultivé au Nigéria, en Côte d’Ivoire, au Cameroun et en République Démocratique du Congo.

Des pays producteurs asiatiques, africains et sud-américains

C’est en Indonésie et Malaisie que les surfaces consacrées à la culture du palmier à huile sont aujourd’hui les plus importantes. Mais on le cultive également en Afrique (Nigéria, Cameroun, Côte d’Ivoire…) et en Amérique du Sud (Colombie, Équateur, Brésil).

Des conditions naturelles favorables

Les régions tropicales humides de ces trois continents offrent des conditions de développement optimales à cette culture. Le palmier à huile y atteint son rendement le plus élevé. Ce qui explique que la Malaisie et l’Indonésie représentent à elles seules 87% de l’offre mondiale.

D’OU VIENT L’HUILE DE PALME