What plant produces palm oil?

plantation palmier

Rather than “palm oil”, it should really be called “palm fruit oil.” Because the oil is obtained through pressing the pulp of this fruit, which has a 50% fat content. This extraction is done through simple hot-pressing, without solvents or chemical additives.

A very high-yield plant

This fruit’s tremendously high oil content partly explains the very high yield of the oil palm. What’s more, under proper conditions, it is possible to harvest the tree’s fruit several times a month – every month of the year!

Long-lasting production

An oil palm produces 12-15 fruit clusters a year, and each cluster contains approximately 1,000-3,000 young fruit. All told, an oil palm produces between 45 and 50 litres of oil annually, for a period of 25 to 30 years.

The oilseed champion

Such productivity ensures the highest yields – by far – of all oilseeds. So, on a like-for-like basis, an oil palm plantation produces eight times more oil than a soybean field and six times more than a rapeseed field.

Qu_est_ce_que_l_huile_de_palme

Quelle plante produit l'huile de palme ?

plantation palmier

Plutôt que « huile de palme », on devrait plutôt dire « huile du fruit du palmier ». Car c’est en pressant la pulpe de ce fruit, qui contient 50% de matières grasses, qu’on obtient cette huile. Cette extraction se fait par simple pression à chaud, sans solvants ni additifs chimiques.

Une plante au rendement exceptionnel

La richesse en huile de ce fruit explique pour une part le rendement très élevé du palmier à huile. De plus, dans de bonnes conditions, il est possible de récolter ses fruits plusieurs fois par mois… tous les mois de l’année !

Une production qui dure

Ainsi, un palmier à huile produit 12 à 15 régimes de fruits chaque année, et chaque régime contient environ 1000 à 3000 jeunes fruits. Au total, un palmier produit entre 45 et 50L d’huile par an, durant 25 à 30 ans.

Le champion des oléagineux

Cette productivité lui assure les rendements les plus élevés, et de loin, de toutes les plantes oléagineuses. Ainsi, à surface égale, une plantation de palmier à huile produit 8 fois plus d’huile qu’un champ de soja et 6 fois plus qu’un champ de colza.

Qu_est_ce_que_l_huile_de_palme