An oil with remarkable culinary and industrial qualities

Expert opinion

Palm oil is fat that has been used daily in cooking for centuries, especially in Asian countries like Thailand, India and China, and in the countries of tropical Africa. Further, the food industry has adopted it in recent decades, as it has many technical and organoleptic qualities.

Palm oil is now indispensable

Depending on their products’ formulation, manufacturers often face complex technological challenges: what “structuring” ingredient gives them the right degree of moistness or softness, but still prevents rancidity? Without altering the taste?

On top of this, of course, is the need to respect specific nutritional criteria, all while considering the environmental impact of the final selection.

Palm fruit oil has valuable food qualities

Palm oil’s specific natural qualities have made it a valuable ingredient for the food industry – and consumers, as well !

Technical qualities

Because palm oil is naturally semi-solid at room temperature, it makes it possible to create the textures and soft mouth-feel desired in a great number of sweet and savoury foodstuffs, from brioche to ready meals. What’s more, it resists oxidation and does not turn rancid, making it possible to reduce preservative use while facilitating product preservation.

iStock_000025467834Medium

Organoleptic qualities

Palm oil, having a neutral taste, lets products’ other flavours come through, while giving them texture (solid, creamy, crunchy), giving products the final structure and consistency consumers are looking for.

Nutritional quality

Palm oil’s lipid profile is half saturated fats, half unsaturated fats. When purified, it remains rich in vitamin E, which helps keep it stable over time.

It is now much more frequently used in Europe, where manufacturers have been seeking a solution to replace partially hydrogenated fats, which can generate the trans-fatty acids that are known to have adverse effects on health. This means palm oil is a safe and simple solution to obtaining the desired consistency and stability in food formulations, without having to resort to artificial hydrogenation and the potential of trans-fat formation.

Une huile aux qualités culinaires et industrielles remarquables

L’avis de l’expert

L’huile de palme est une matière grasse consommée au quotidien pour cuisiner depuis des siècles, particulièrement en Asie (Thaïlande, Inde, Chine, …) et dans les pays de l’Afrique tropicale. L’industrie agroalimentaire l’a quant à elle adoptée depuis quelques décennies car elle présente de multiples qualités techniques et organoleptiques.

Une huile devenue indispensable

En fonction de la recette de leurs produits, les industriels doivent souvent relever des défis technologiques souvent complexes : quel ingrédient « structurant » leur confère le bon degré de moelleux ? Mais évite aussi le rancissement ? Sans en altérer le goût ?

A cela s’ajoute bien entendu la nécessité de respecter des critères nutritionnels précis tout en prenant en compte l’impact environnemental du choix final.

L’huile de fruit du palmier a de précieuses qualités alimentaires

Les qualités naturelles particulières de l’huile de palme ont fait d’elle un ingrédient précieux pour les industries agroalimentaires… et leurs consommateurs !

Qualités techniques

Parce qu’elle est naturellement semi-solide à température ambiante, elle permet d’obtenir la texture et le fondant de très nombreuses recettes sucrées ou salées, de la brioche aux plats préparés. De plus, elle résiste bien à l’oxydation et ne rancit pas, ce qui permet une utilisation réduite de conservateurs et facilite une meilleure conservation des produits.

iStock_000025467834Medium

Qualités organoleptiques

L’huile de palme, au goût neutre, révèle les autres saveurs, tout en leur conférant une texture (solide, fondante, croquante) qui donne au produit la structure finale que recherchent les consommateurs.

Qualité nutritionnelle

L’huile de palme a un profil lipidique composé à moitié de matières grasses saturées et de matières grasses insaturées. Quand elle est purifiée, elle reste riche en vitamine E, qui contribue a la rendre stable dans le temps.
Son utilisation a fortement augmenté en Europe, lorsque les industriels ont cherché une solution pour remplacer les matières grasses partiellement hydrogénées, dont on connaît les effets néfastes sur la santé du fait des acides gras trans qu’elles peuvent générer. Ainsi, l’huile de palme est une solution sûre et simple pour obtenir la consistance et la stabilité souhaitées pour les recettes des produits alimentaires, sans hydrogénation artificielle et sans formation d’acides gras trans.